Recurring concern

Inadequate and unreliable public-road street lighting

Pin Get email alerts Request correction

First reported 24 Feb 2014•Latest report 1 Dec 2025

Definition

What this concern includes

Includes deficiencies in the provision, functioning, inspection, maintenance, repair or unobstructed performance of street lighting serving public roads, crossings, junctions, bus stops or comparable roadside pedestrian areas.

Not included

  • Excludes warning signs, traffic signs, crossings, barriers, speed limits and other road-safety controls unless the assertion specifically concerns street-lighting performance.
  • Excludes lighting systems unrelated to public roads, such as prison, residential, workplace or fire-detection lighting.
  • Excludes generic visibility, road-design or environmental hazards that do not identify a deficiency in the street-lighting system.
Reports
34

Distinct published reports

Individual concerns
38

A report can raise multiple concerns

Date range
2014–2025

First to latest report issue date

Stated actions
28

Described in published responses

Reports over time

Reports over time

Reports about this concern issued each year.

* 2026 is projected from reports observed to 7 Sep 2026.

Most frequent recipients

Most frequent recipients

Reports about this concern sent to each recipient.

National Highways8
Recipient name withheld3
Warwickshire County Council3
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council2
Bradford City Council2
Cumbria County Council2
Department for Transport2
Durham County Council2
Essex Highways2
Windsor and Maidenhead Borough Council2
Amey plc1
Balfour Beatty A50 DBFO route management1
Essex County Council1
Family of Gurkirat Singh1
Hertfordshire County Council1

Concerns and responses across reports

Only concerns grouped under this recurring concern are included. Select any concern, action or position to view the source wording.

  1. Milton Keynes

    AI-generated summary

    John Charles HICKMOTT · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    John Charles Hickmott died at the scene after stepping from a pedestrian island into the path of a moving car on V11 Tongwell Street, Milton Keynes, on 19 February 2025. The incident occurred in darkness, with several nearby streetlights not working, making pedestrians difficult to see. The principal concerns were the timeliness and monitoring of streetlight repairs and the extent of proactive inspections for faulty lights.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Delays in repairing reported unlit streetlights

    Wider context from the report

    “I am concerned at: 1) The timeliness of repairs being undertaken when streetlights are reported as not being lit; 2) The extent of monitoring of scheduled repairs to ensure timely repair; 3) The extent to which proactive inspections are undertaken by the Council to identify faulty streetlights, or blocks of lights, that may not have been reported to the Council. ”

    Source location

    John Charles HICKMOTT · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Insufficient proactive inspection for unreported faulty streetlights

    Wider context from the report

    “I am concerned at: 1) The timeliness of repairs being undertaken when streetlights are reported as not being lit; 2) The extent of monitoring of scheduled repairs to ensure timely repair; 3) The extent to which proactive inspections are undertaken by the Council to identify faulty streetlights, or blocks of lights, that may not have been reported to the Council. ”

    Source location

    John Charles HICKMOTT · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Reiterate the streetlight repair-time requirements to the maintenance contractor through formal notification.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “General streetlight repair works are contractually required to be fixed by our contractor within the stated 14 days for the block faults, unless it is outside of our control, such as an electricity supply issue to our assets.”

    Source location

    Response from Highways and Transportation, Milton Keynes Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 3 December 2025

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Inspect a sample comprising 10% of contractor-completed streetlight repairs.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “MKCC now undertake a sample check inspection of 10% of the repair works carried out by the contractor.”

    Source location

    Response from Highways and Transportation, Milton Keynes Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 3 December 2025

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Review repair reports at operational lighting team meetings and formalise them into contractual key performance indicators.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “All works will be updated within the highways asset system with before and after reports and photographs. These reports will be reviewed at the regular operational lighting team meeting before being formalised into the contractual key performance indicators which form part of the overall performance framework of the contract.”

    Source location

    Response from Highways and Transportation, Milton Keynes Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 3 December 2025

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Install remote monitoring across most highway streetlighting assets, including all grid-road and high-priority lighting, to identify outages proactively.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “By April 2026, most of the highways street lighting assets and all grid road and high priority lighting are now all have had a remote monitoring system installed. This enables proactive inspection and early identification of any streetlights out. This will replace most manual scouting. There will remain a minimal level manual ‘fault scouting’ and identification to check any significant or unclear fault reports from the system.”

    Source location

    Response from Highways and Transportation, Milton Keynes Council
    Page 2 · response
    Published 3 December 2025

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Repair timelines for some streetlight faults cannot be met where electricity supply or grid-road circumstances are outside the council’s control.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “General streetlight repair works are contractually required to be fixed by our contractor within the stated 14 days for the block faults, unless it is outside of our control, such as an electricity supply issue to our assets.”

    Source location

    Response from Highways and Transportation, Milton Keynes Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 3 December 2025

    Open published response
  2. Black Country

    AI-generated summary

    Gurkirat Singh · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Gurkirat Singh, a child, died after being struck by a single-decker bus on High Street, Tipton, on 6 December 2024. The report raises concerns about repeated incidents on the road, the absence of pedestrian crossings and central road markings, poor street lighting, and visibility being obscured by parked vehicles and building-line shadows.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Poor street lighting failing to provide adequate visibility for drivers

    Wider context from the report

    “2. My concern is that in the last five years there have been six incidents including this fatality on this stretch of road and within half a mile approaching the roundabout. Evidence at the inquest emerged indicating there are no pedestrian crossings on this stretch of the High Street and visibility to drivers is obscured due to vehicles parked on either side. 3. In addition, there are no central road markings with poor street lighting resulting in the building line creating shadows on the footpath, which all add to the lack of visibility for drivers. ”

    Source location

    Gurkirat Singh · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Design and deliver enhanced street lighting and an improved lighting layout on High Street.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “Although existing street lighting levels have been assessed and are compliant with the standards in place at the time of installation, it has been identified that opportunities exist to enhance lighting to the next level of standard and to improve the overall layout. These improvements will now be designed and delivered as part of a wider package of safety measures for the area.”

    Source location

    Response from Sandwell Metropolitan Borough Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 16 February 2026

    Open published response
  3. West Yorkshire (Western)

    AI-generated summary

    Arsalan Khalid BAIG · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Arsalan Khalid Baig was a front-seat passenger in a car that collided with a brick wall on Dryden Street, Bradford, after the driver was intoxicated following drug use and travelling at more than twice the speed limit. Mr Baig sustained severe head injuries and died in hospital on 31 July 2022. The substantive concern was that poor street lighting and the absence of appropriate traffic warning signs may have contributed to the death.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Lack of adequate street lighting

    Wider context from the report

    “The deceased was a passenger in a motor vehicle driven by Mohammed Azad Baig upon the late evening of 30th July 2022. The car containing both Mr Khan and Mr Baig was travelling along Dryden Street Bradford towards a right hand turn into Buck Street , whilst also approaching a brick wall at the end of Dryden Street. The street was badly lit with no traffic warning signs provided to the driver or his passenger as to the approaching wall and a 90 degree turn of the road onto Buck Street. It is my concern that it is more likely than not that the absence of good street lighting and lack of appropriate traffic warning signs contributed in part to the death of the deceased. ”

    Source location

    Arsalan Khalid BAIG · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Install a new street-lighting column at the Dryden Street and Buck Street corner facing approaching traffic.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “I can confirm that following the incident:”

    Source location

    Response from Bradford Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 10 March 2025

    Open published response
  4. West Yorkshire (Western)

    AI-generated summary

    Mohammed Azad KHAN · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Mohammed Azad Khan died at the scene after his vehicle collided with a brick wall on Dryden Street, Bradford, in the early hours of 31 July 2022. The report identified concerns that the bend and wall were obscured by darkness, street lighting was insufficient, and there were no warning signs for the dead end or turn, which may have contributed to the collision.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Insufficient street lighting obscuring the left turn and wall

    Wider context from the report

    “The fatal accident took place at the end of Dryden Street Bradford where the street becomes Buck street following a 90 degree left turn. At the time of collision at 23.32 hours on 30th July 2022, the street was badly lit , with the left turn and wall at the end of Dryden Street being obscured by the darkness with the result that a collision of the car driven by the deceased and the wall facing him took place. No warning road signs were placed to warn drivers of the dead end of the street or the left turn in advance; the absence of which together with insufficient street lighting may in all probability have contributed to the fatal accident ensuing. ”

    Source location

    Mohammed Azad KHAN · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 1 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Install a new street-lighting column at the Dryden Street and Buck Street corner facing approaching traffic.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “I can confirm that following the incident:”

    Source location

    Response from Bradford Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 10 March 2025

    Open published response
  5. County Durham and Darlington

    AI-generated summary

    Scott Andrew PUNSHON · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Scott Andrew Punshon, a 36-year-old man, was found deceased on the A689 near Howden Le Wear on 12 August 2023 after being struck by a car while lying in the road. A site investigation identified issues with road markings, signage and lighting.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Deficient road lighting

    Wider context from the report

    “On the 13th September 2023, on behalf of Durham County Council, you carried out a site investigation (Fatal Accident Report M7/R11/23) which identified issues with road markings, signage and lighting. You made recommendations that these should be addressed by the DCC Technical Services personnel. ”

    Source location

    Scott Andrew PUNSHON · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 1 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Trim vegetation obstructing illumination around street-lighting columns 333 and 334.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “As a result of the accident investigation three observations/recommendations were raised by the investigation officers which have also been highlighted in your report. I can confirm following receipt of the fatal accident report council officers took the following actions:”

    Source location

    Response from Durham County Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 9 August 2024

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Continue scheduled highway safety inspections to assess condition and identify issues meeting investigatory levels for remedial action.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “I can confirm we continue to assess the condition of the highway as part of our scheduled safety inspections as identified in the councils Highway Safety Inspection Manual which is aligned to the National Code of Practice for Well Maintained Highway Infrastructure and any issues meeting the investigatory level will be identified for remedial action.”

    Source location

    Response from Durham County Council
    Page 2 · response
    Published 9 August 2024

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Scheduled highway safety inspections will identify issues meeting investigatory levels for remedial action, providing the ongoing response to highway-condition concerns.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “I can confirm we continue to assess the condition of the highway as part of our scheduled safety inspections as identified in the councils Highway Safety Inspection Manual which is aligned to the National Code of Practice for Well Maintained Highway Infrastructure and any issues meeting the investigatory level will be identified for remedial action.”

    Source location

    Response from Durham County Council
    Page 2 · response
    Published 9 August 2024

    Open published response
  6. Warwickshire

    AI-generated summary

    Master Mason Williams · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Mason Williams was struck by a car while crossing Trinity Road, Piccadilly, in darkness on 30 November 2022 and died in hospital three days later. The substantive concern was that the street lighting was not illuminated because of a fault with underground cabling, which may have been damaged in an earlier road traffic collision.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Unavailability of street lighting due to underground cabling faults

    Wider context from the report

    “i. The street lighting along Trinity Road, Piccadilly, nr Kingsbury was not illuminated at the time of the Road Traffic Collision due to a fault. I am told the fault was with the underground cabling which was affecting lamp posts 16 to 21 along Trinity Road. ii. I am aware that the cabling may have been damaged from a previous Road Traffic Collision that occurred on 20 October 2022. ”

    Source location

    Master Mason Williams · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Repair the damaged cabling, replace the damaged lighting column, and restore full operation of the Trinity Road street lighting.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “1. The damaged power cabling on Trinity Road was temporarily repaired by the Council’s contractors on 5 December 2022 to restore the street lighting. The lighting column damaged on 28 October 2022 (no. 18) was replaced and a permanent repair to the cable carried out on 17 January 2023. The street lighting on Trinity Road has been fully operational since that date.”

    Source location

    Response from Warwickshire County Council
    Page 2 · response
    Published 14 November 2023

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Recruit two additional street lighting team employees to increase capacity for detecting street lighting faults.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “2. The Council’s street lighting team has recruited two additional employees who started work on 6 November 2023. The central management system is now interrogated by an appropriately qualified officer on a daily basis. This means that street lighting faults that are not alerted automatically (ie due to power outage) or are not reported by the public will be detected very quickly.”

    Source location

    Response from Warwickshire County Council
    Page 3 · response
    Published 14 November 2023

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Interrogate the central management system daily through an appropriately qualified officer to detect faults not automatically alerted or publicly reported.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “2. The Council’s street lighting team has recruited two additional employees who started work on 6 November 2023. The central management system is now interrogated by an appropriately qualified officer on a daily basis. This means that street lighting faults that are not alerted automatically (ie due to power outage) or are not reported by the public will be detected very quickly.”

    Source location

    Response from Warwickshire County Council
    Page 3 · response
    Published 14 November 2023

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Continue working with Telensa to pursue a solution for automatically detecting complete power loss to street lighting columns.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “4. The Council met with Telensa, its contracted supplier of the central management system, in March 2023 and highlighted the lack of an automatic systems alert in the event of a complete power loss to a street lighting column. Telensa have advised that they will consider updates and improvements that could be made to the system. The Council will continue to work with Telensa to pursue a solution to this issue.”

    Source location

    Response from Warwickshire County Council
    Page 3 · response
    Published 14 November 2023

    Open published response
  7. Hertfordshire

    AI-generated summary

    Steven Easdale · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Steven Easdale was struck by a car while crossing the B197 Digswell Hill on 5 November 2021 and died at Addenbrookes Hospital on 12 December 2021 from injuries sustained in the collision. The principal concern was that an unlit pedestrian refuge and nearby streetlamp posed a danger to road users and pedestrians; the coroner considered that illumination may have helped the driver see Mr Easdale earlier and avoid the collision.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Lack of working lights on a pedestrian refuge

    Wider context from the report

    “(1) That the lack of working lights on the pedestrian refuge on the B197 Digswell Hill (near the Red Lion Public House) poses a danger to road users and pedestrians. Specifically that neither the illuminated bollard nor the streetlamp are in working order. ”

    Source location

    Steven Easdale · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Add the site to the asset inventory and inspect and maintain its bollards and beacon every 20 days, attending to faults when necessary.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “The HCC highways team were able to confirm all illuminations were in-light on 13th January 2023. The location has been checked every 20-days since then and has been in-light each time.”

    Source location

    Response from Hertfordshire County Council
    Page 2 · response
    Published 24 February 2023

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    The refuge beacon is not designed to provide lighting for crossing users; it only identifies the island for motorists from a distance.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “[Please note the reference to streetlamp in the Report is interpreted to mean the refuge beacon on the same island as the bollards. The refuge beacon is a low wattage unit with minimal light output in a downward direction to identify the island for motorists from a distance. It is not designed to provide lighting for users of the crossing]”

    Source location

    Response from Hertfordshire County Council
    Page 1 · response
    Published 24 February 2023

    Open published response
  8. Cumbria

    AI-generated summary

    Stephen Cloudsdale · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Stephen Cloudsdale died at the scene after his car collided with an LGV encroaching into the eastbound lane of the A66 in darkness and heavy rain. The concerns identified were the lack of lighting and warning signage, the speed of traffic, and whether the central reservation was wide enough to accommodate large vehicles safely.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Lack of lighting at the A66 dual carriageway crossing point

    Wider context from the report

    “1) The lack of lighting near to or at the point of the A66 dual carriageway where the collision occurred which renders the presence of vehicles crossing the carriageway from the café difficult to see by approaching drivers during the hours of darkness and/or during adverse weather conditions. 2) The lack of appropriately positioned signage, warning approaching drivers of the possibility of vehicles crossing the carriageway from the café. 3) The speed of traffic on this stretch of the A66. 4) The sufficiency of the width of the central reservation to accommodate large vehicles fully without the danger of encroaching into either of the opposing carriageways. ”

    Source location

    Stephen Cloudsdale · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 3 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Road lighting cannot be justified on this A66 section because whole-life costs outweigh expected collision-reduction benefits.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “Having assessed the site, we have concluded that road lighting cannot be justified along this section of the A66 trunk road when applying the requirements of the Design Manual for Roads and Bridges Road Lighting Appraisal guidance TA 501 (formerly TA 49/07). This is based upon the whole life costs of installation, maintenance and power over a 30-year period, offset against the potential benefits in terms of collision savings and therefore no action is proposed. It is also counterproductive to light short sections of an otherwise unlit carriageway as drivers eyesight reacts and adjusts to changes in lighting levels.”

    Source location

    Response from National Highways Ltd
    Page 2 · response
    Published 4 February 2022

    Open published response
  9. Cumbria

    AI-generated summary

    Daniel Bancroft · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Daniel Bancroft, an ex-serviceman and father of three, became extremely inebriated after a night out and was struck by a motor vehicle while walking along the A66 in the early hours. He died from the resultant injuries. The substantive concerns were the lack of pedestrian warning signage, the rapid acceleration and speed of traffic, and the lack of lighting on the initial stretch of the A66.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Lack of lighting on the initial stretch of the A66

    Wider context from the report

    “1. There is nothing to discourage pedestrians from walking along the A66 eg signage 2. Cars are rapidly accelerating from the well-lit roundabout at Stainburn onto an unlit section of the A66 as the national speed limit sign is very close to the roundabout. 3. The speed of traffic on this initial stretch of the A66 4. The lack of lighting on this initial stretch of the A66 ”

    Source location

    Daniel Bancroft · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Assess the suitability of existing road lighting and speed-limit extents at the A66 Stairnburn Bypass in daylight and darkness.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “We have visited the site in both daylight and dark conditions to assess the suitability of the current road lighting provision and speed limit extents. The illuminated section at the end of the bypass ensures consistent and uniform lighting levels around the full footprint of the junction, and approaches, within the restricted 30mph speed limit. This is in line with the guidance and recommendations contained within BS EN 5489-1 ‘Design of Road Lighting’.”

    Source location

    2020-0244-Response-from-Highways-England-Redacted.pdf
    Page 1 · response
    Published 24 December 2020

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    The existing road-lighting extent is appropriate and guidance-compliant, so no additional lighting is proposed; further lighting may encourage pedestrian use.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “The current road lighting provides the interface with the roundabout lighting, specifically on the westbound approach, and supports the lighting infrastructure along the adjacent road network. Having assessed the site, we have concluded that the current extent of the road lighting at this location is appropriate and in line with guidance outlined within BS EN 5489-1 and the Design Manual for Roads and Bridges (DMRB) Technology appraisal guidance TA 501(formerly TA 49/07) ‘Road Lighting Appraisal’, and therefore no action is proposed. Lighting additional lengths of the bypass may also further encourage pedestrian use.”

    Source location

    2020-0244-Response-from-Highways-England-Redacted.pdf
    Page 2 · response
    Published 24 December 2020

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    The road network and collision concerned are outside the County Council’s responsibility.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “Having examined the report, I wish to advise that the Road Traffic Collision that resulted in the death of Mr Bancroft occurred entirely on the road network that is the responsibility of the Highways England Authority.”

    Source location

    2020-0244-Response-from-Cumbria-County-Council-Redacted.pdf
    Page 1 · response
    Published 24 December 2020

    Open published response

    Source evidence

    How this respondent position was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Highways England will address the safety issue raised because it concerns its road network.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “Thank you for bringing this to our attention, but in this case Highways England will address the issue raised.”

    Source location

    2020-0244-Response-from-Cumbria-County-Council-Redacted.pdf
    Page 1 · response
    Published 24 December 2020

    Open published response
  10. Lincolnshire

    AI-generated summary

    Millie TAYLOR-NOONAN · Prevention of Future Deaths report

    This summary was generated using AI from the published report. Please read the original report for the complete account.

    Report summary

    Millie TAYLOR-NOONAN, aged 18, was struck by a car while crossing the A607 near The Sir William Robertson School on 4 December 2018. She suffered an unsurvivable head injury and died following the collision; concerns included inadequate pedestrian protections, lighting and crossing arrangements near the school.

    Read the report on judiciary.uk

    Source evidence

    How this individual concern was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the report wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Lack of street lighting at the school crossing area

    Wider context from the report

    “1. The location of the collision is in the immediate vicinity to the access and exit entrances to a large secondary school; 2. Whilst motorists have the benefit of advanced warning triangles indicating to road users that there is a school 100 ahead along with a speed limit repeater the location of the incident took place near a dropped kerb with a section of tactile pavement on the footpaths either side of the road, there is no indication to road users as to the imminence of what, was in reality a school crossing area and the area is also unlit; 3. The evidence demonstrated that the deceased may have been distracted by other road traffic users and in particular a school bus emerging from the school premises in the immediacy of the collision that serves to demonstrate the vulnerability of pedestrians in this location at such a time; 4. There are no other measures that exist to protect pedestrians such as: a. Railings; b. Street lighting; c. An automated zebra or other form of crossing to allow a priority to be given to pedestrians; d. A school crossing patrol officer; e. A temporary reduction in the speed limit to 20 miles per hour at the beginning and end of the school day; ”

    Source location

    Millie TAYLOR-NOONAN · Prevention of Future Deaths report
    Page 2 · concerns

    Open source report

    Source evidence

    How this respondent action was interpreted

    PFD Monitor created a concise, searchable interpretation from the published response wording shown below.

    PFD Monitor interpretation

    Install streetlighting at the school entrance as an authorised exceptional measure.

    Verbatim wording from the response

    “b. The provision of Streetlighting at this location does not meet the requirements of the County Council's Streetlighting Policy. However, the school feel that this request would have the most significant benefit and the Executive Councillor has authorised its installation as an exceptional case.”

    Source location

    2020-0097-Response-from-Lincolnshire-County-Council_Redacted
    Page 2 · response
    Published 18 May 2020

    Open published response
Back to top

Data last updated 7 September 2026